|| Proposal 1st Draft – Final Major Project ||

For this project I would like to explore the concept art created for children’s movies. At this early stage of the project, I would also like to look at children’s book illustrations, which could go hand in hand with the concept art, as the art style I could use to create the concept art, can also be used to illustrate a children’s book. Although I am thinking about both of these pathways, I will concentrate more on the concept art more heavily than the children’s book art to begin with; the option to move to children’s book art is there as another idea to fall back on, should the concept art idea not work out.


 

“The main goal of concept art is to convey a visual representation of a design, idea, and/or mood for use in films, video games, animation, or comic books before it is put into the final product. In other words, it aims to convey the overall design vision rather than specify everything in exact terms right at the start.” (CreativeBloq)

Concept art can include anything from scene shot ideas to give an idea of the mood to detailed mechanical drawings showing how objects will work.


 

The first thing I will do to kickstart this project is to do in depth research into the existing concept art for children’s movies, as well as the artists behind the art created. Another beneficial piece of research would be to also look at the work created by the artists on different projects they have worked on, rather than just the concept art.

After doing the initial research I will go on to decide on a movie I would like to work on; I would work on the movie as if it is going to be released in the future as a new movie and I have been asked to work on the new concept art. Depending on the movie I choose to look at, the characters would already have been created so that means I will not have to create new characters, unless I choose to do so.

I will move on to looking at different techniques I can use to create the concept art; for example working traditionally with paint and pencils to working digitally on Photoshop and Illustrator. I will be presenting my work in a sketchbook, similarly to how conceptual artwork would be presented in certain cases, and printed pieces of larger artwork.

 

Leave a Reply

